Picture
I just read an interesting article by Williams and Jacobs, describing not only the origin of blogging but its use in the education field.  According to Williams and Jacobs (2004), "blogs have the potential, at least, to be a truly transformational technology in that they provide students with a high level of autonomy while simultaneously providing the opportunity for greater interaction with peers. A blogging tool would be a valuable addition" (p. 247) I believe this to be true, because a few colleagues of mine in the general education field, are contemplating using blogging in their classrooms for that reason specifically.  As with all my current blogs, I was asked to reflect upon questions asked by my professor in regards to internet and learning.

How has the Internet has impacted your own personal learning?

  • What sites do you go to regularly to learn new things?
  • Are there authors or sites that you "follow?"
  • When does the Internet or the Web help your learning, and when does it distract from good learning for you?
  • How do you feel about technology and learning?

These are very good and thought-provoking questions surrounding this content, and it does make me analyze my use of technology and it's impact on my learning.  The majority of sites that I use for learning are broad, and typically are at the mercy of what sites Google believe are most relevant to the content I am searching for.  Though I do use Wikipedia, I know not to rely on this site as the absolute truth.  The Internet can aid in my learning when I find a website that is: credible, has substantial resources, and created by people in that specific field.  On the other hand, it can detract from my "good learning" by feeding me false information or unreliable sources.  In the end, it is up to the user to distinguish between the two, and I believe technology can greatly benefit learning.  Specifically blogging can be an asset by engaging students to participate, be it actually contributing or simply reading what others deem important in specific content areas.  Blogging allows for a more flexible and accessible way to respond, share, and collaborate with others on a variety of issues which has the power to enhance learning.  It can act in a way like a big study group, with people comparing notes, discussing what is important, and debating upon the validity of

References:

Williams, J. & Jacobs, J. (2004) Exploring blogs as learning spaces in higher education.
Australasian Journal of Educational Technology 20(2), 232-247.

1/15/2013 12:24:33 pm

Hello Kelly, I also enjoy the internet in regards to education and enlightened because the internet allows us to research and read new interesting articles, research, and informative surveys. The best part of the internet is that we could apply new research in the field of Kinesiology.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kelley Kill.  I'm 26 years old, and living within the San Francisco Bay Area.  Happily working as an Adapted Physical Education Teacher, and gleefully attempting to get my Masters in Kinesiology from Fresno Pacific University.

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All