Microblogging reminds me of when I am highlighting your textbook, or underlining my notes- only the most important information.  If I need to condense a statement or thought to 140 characters or less, I need to make them count.  My professor asked me to reflect on microblogging in education/athletics, and that anything is fair game.

Here comes my amazing reflection to stun everyone, and make the world clap- microblogging is both good and bad.  As the old saying goes, a tool has the ability to create as well as destroy.  Microblogging when used properly, can be an asset to education.  I have seen documentaries of teachers utilizing Twitter to engage their students, and to have students respond to questions and discussions using Twitter.  I have seen students love Twitter, because their professor would post about a scheduling change or an update on what assignments are due.  Microblogging could be beneficial with athletics by posting: the start time of the game, location of the game, and  the current score.  Microblogging can be useful, and thoroughly appreciated by students/fans/etc., if utilized properly.  As stated before, microblogging is an efficient way to communicate the important  or condensed version of information a person wishes to communicate to others.

 I know I previously mentioned that microblogging could destroy education/athletics, and I am sure there must be people asking how that could happen.  "How can microblogging destroy something?"

Well I am a positive person, and try to shy away from such negatives; however, microblogging can be used for bad purposes.  As with anything cyber, it can lead to:  bashing, bullying, or being negative which can cause a ripple effect in any education/athletic forum.  For example, a teacher attempting to use Twitter with a class will not get very far if most of the students use Twitter inappropriately.  Or bullying a particular player of  a team, can lead to a negative impact of his/her playing with all these hateful microblogs in his/her head. 

I promise that everyone will find mostly positive and happy posts on my Twitter.  Follow me @kelleymk1986  If nothing else, it should be fun to try and see me write a microblog.
Monique Henderson
1/16/2013 12:21:54 pm

I have always been petrified of having a personal facebook page or using twitter. I hate negativity and people seem to get really bold from behind their computers. I did have to start a business account on facebook and it is linked to twitter. I focus on posting updates about my business and rarely post anything personal. The cyber world can be scary!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kelley Kill.  I'm 26 years old, and living within the San Francisco Bay Area.  Happily working as an Adapted Physical Education Teacher, and gleefully attempting to get my Masters in Kinesiology from Fresno Pacific University.

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All