Picture
Podcasts are slowly becoming more popular among educators, and podcasts perform a useful service to the students.  Podcasts can help students that are more auditory learners review content discussed in class; also, when taking notes, sometimes facts/statements can be written down wrong or misunderstood.  "For many people, listening may be more attractive and less tedious than reading (Cebeci 49)." With podcasts, a student has the ability to review what the educator has said with there being no doubt about the validity of the notes.  Though I am a primarily visual learner, I do like the idea of replaying different concepts that I am unsure of, and it allows me to study while: in the car, at the gym, or on break between classes.

Currently, I am experimenting with different podcasts to help me learn Spanish and to help me with my Kinesiology courses.  The Spanish podcasts allow me to concentrate on a section at a time, and make the material more manageable.  The Kinesiology podcasts are helpful, because they allow students to "stop and start the podcasts over again while they explored embedded hyperlinks (Vess 483)."  This I have done multiple times with my Kinesiology podcasts, especially when going over how to create a website and a portfolio.

References:
Cebeci, Z., & Tekdal, M. (2006). Using Podcasts as Audio Learning Objects. Interdisciplinary Journal of Knowledge & Learning Objects, 2, 49.

Vess, D. L. (2006). History to Go: Why iTeach with iPods. History Teacher, 39(4), 483-484.






Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kelley Kill.  I'm 26 years old, and living within the San Francisco Bay Area.  Happily working as an Adapted Physical Education Teacher, and gleefully attempting to get my Masters in Kinesiology from Fresno Pacific University.

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All