Hi! My name is Kelley Kill, and currently I am an Adapted Physical Education Teacher (PreK-8) for Ravenswood City School District in East Palo Alto. This is my second year teaching for this district, but it will be my fourth year teaching Adapted Physical Education in general. Besides Ravenswood, I have taught APE for: West Sonoma County Office of Education, Sonoma County Office of Education, and private schools.  I received two teaching credentials from Sonoma State University: Multiple Subject and APE.  I am the second person at Sonoma State to receive those credentials together at the same time.  My hope is to one day become a Community College Professor in Adapted Physical Education.

      This is my first time blogging, and though excited, I am very nervous!  Afterall, I never would consider myself a "blogger" of any sort, but life is all about taking on new challenges right?

Jaclyn McCoy
1/15/2013 07:04:59 am

Kelley, I must say I have a little experience of what your job might be like. I have one adapted class everyday for PE and sometimes they are a struggle and it's hard to keep my patience. I respect that you do it full time and are not an alcoholic. There are days where nothing works for me and days where everything works. Depending on the students medication or mood might make or break the whole class for the day. I currently have a student who's mood can change at the drop of a hat and so far we have had several good classes in a row. If I put him in charge of something he responds to the leadership roll instead of me telling him what to do the whole class. If you have an interesting games that you use I would love to hear them. I am always looking for new ideas and new games for the kids to play. Thanks for sharing!!

Reply
1/18/2013 06:06:29 am

Kelley,
Great website! It was fun to hear how passionate you are about being an adapted phy ed teacher. I taught DAPE (we call it Developmental Adapted Phy Ed in Minnesota) for 10 years and LOVED it! Now I teach mainstream PE all day and I really miss my DAPE kids! I worked with the DCD program at an elementary school and physically impaired students and students with autism at a junior high. It's the most rewarding job in the world! I truly believe you have to be born with the gift to be able to do the job. Your kids are so lucky to have such a enthusiastic and passionate teacher! I know you make their day everyday! :)

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    My name is Kelley Kill.  I'm 26 years old, and living within the San Francisco Bay Area.  Happily working as an Adapted Physical Education Teacher, and gleefully attempting to get my Masters in Kinesiology from Fresno Pacific University.

    Archives

    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All